2019 - 2020 AHLETE AWARDS

Abby Award - Tessa Wallin

U10 award for those that are always smiling and having fun, gives 100%, cheers on teammates and has a true passion and love for skiing.

Rookie of the year - Vonn Chorneyko

An individual who is in his or her 1st year at the Alpine level and has achieved the highest Sask Cup points.

Highest Sask Cup Points - Carson Ritter

The individual who over the course of this season earned the most Sask Cup Points of the Regina Team members. In the point’s race, 50 points are awarded for a first place finish, 40 for 2nd, 30 for 3rd, 20 for 4th, 10for 5th and so on down to 1 point for 14th place in each race category.

Alpine Racing Commitment Award - Carson Ritter & Abby Balkwill

Those who have made an additional commitment to the sport of Alpine Racing by participation in additional training and racing beyond what is offered by our club and Sask Alpine Race Series. These individuals have committed the winter to improving their race results by continuing their education through alternate arrangements, by sacrificing their spare time to focus on training and racing, by maintaining a high level of physical fitness and by being away from home for extended periods of time.

The Most Dedicated Award - Samantha Silverthorn

This award is presented to the individual who has shown a superior training effort, personal physical fitness conditioning and attendance at on-snow training, and at races. This individual has a great attitude toward ski training and ski racing.

Sportsmanship Award - Nate Spriggs

In memory of Susanna Donald, Sunshine & Ski have provided the trophy for this award. The coaches meet and select the individual for this award. The criteria include the individual’s attitude towards training and racing, as well as his or her attitude towards coaches, peers, competition and race officials. A number of racers showed the characteristics that exemplify the quality of sportsmanship that coaches love to see in the athletes and parents love to see in their children. All the coaches are very proud to have been associated with these individuals and the qualities they exhibited during the year.

Most Improved Racers - Natalie Hischebett & Lincoln Lamontange

The awards for the most improved male and female racers go to individuals who have improved their skiing over the course of this year to the extent that they have attained a new level of skiing and ski racing for themselves as individuals.

"Susanna Donald" Memorial Regina Award - Carson Ritter

The “Susanna Donald” Memorial Award is presented to a racer who has shown the high standards of dedication exemplified by Susanna Donald. In addition to meeting the Most Dedicated Award criteria, this racer displayed Susanna’s enthusiasm, dedication to hard work and positive attitude towards dryland training, on snow training and love of ski racing.

The Outstanding Team Member - Samantha Silverthorn

The Outstanding Team Member was selected by members of the Regina Alpine Race Team through secret ballot. The qualities for nomination were a positive attitude towards training and racing, a positive attitude towards their peers, coaches and officials. The individual must also show team spirit through positive modeling of the team rules and code of conduct and encouragement of other team members.

The President's Cup - Cancelled due to Cover 19

At the end of the ski season, the Regina Alpine Race Team hosts The President’s Cup Race.